Dented

June 14, 2013

Golf Ball
Did you know that golf balls were once made with a smooth surface? It’s true. The players started to realize though that when their pristine balls (*snicker*, because I enjoy a little Grade 3 boy humour), got a few nicks and dents they would go farther.

My karate instructor was telling me about how this fact was used as a metaphor at a martial arts seminar he attended. He likened it to sparring. You get to be a better fighter if you get a few dents every now and then. There’s nothing like a sidekick to the ribs to teach you to move faster next time and keep yourself in the fight a little longer.

It’s more than just a metaphor for martial though isn’t it? I think so. I know that I am a stronger person because I’ve failed at things and had the good sense to learn from the experiences. Yes, that is plural. I have my ‘dents’ and I know there will be plenty more. I’m okay with that though. Each new dent means that next time I fly farther.

2 Responses to “Dented”

  1. Katja Says:

    I love this Kelly! I’m going to work on remembering this.


Leave a Reply

