Come up swinging

May 16, 2012

A couple months ago I took a kickboxing class after my karate class. It was my first “double” of the year. Actually, it was my first “double” in about four years, but who’s counting right?

One of our exercises was to bend down, touch the ground, come up and hook punch the bag. In the middle of this particular drill my instructor yelled “Come up swinging!”. Those three words resonated with me and thought “Damn right I’ll come up swinging.”.  Since that class I’ve been thinking about all the ways that “Come up swinging” applies to my life. I want to get back in shape and be healthy and fit, but I have to fight for it. I have to fight the vortex that is my couch. I want to go back to technical writing after 11 years of being a stay at home mom with only a handful of random projects that are suitable for a resume. I have to fight for that too. Yes, I need to bring my skills back up to par, but mostly I need to fight those niggling thoughts of “Who will hire a part time tech writer that wants to work from home as much as she can?”. That couch and those thoughts try to drag me down. Little do they know, I fight back…and I come up swinging.

PinkGloves

Leave a Reply

